Skip to Main Content

Resident Council Election Results

On August 11-12, 2020 elections to select the officials to the newly created Resident Councils for Sylavon Court and Sylavon Towers were conducted.
The Resident Council's principal purposes are:
1. Advocate for residents before the Sylacauga Housing Authority.
2. Encourage programs and activities designed to promote independence, self-sufficiency, community and quality of life.
3. Encourage good working relationships between residents and SHA staff.
4. Provide an avenue for sharing information about the Authority and its programs and offerings to residents.
All members of the Resident Council are SHA residents, but only those elected are officers. Residents are encouraged to participate in meetings and/or activities designated by their respective councils. A new council is elected every three (3) years or as otherwise determined by their by-laws.
The Sylacauga Housing Authority is looking forward to a great relationship with the respective councils and are committed to assist is any way possible in order to accomplish their community goals.
For more information, please contact Resident Services Manager, Elaine Machado, at 256-249-0381 ext. 2026.
Picture of Sylavon Court Resident Council From Left to right- Connie Sims – Treasurer, Juliett Thomas – Vice President, Loria Wright – Secretary, Imogene Patterson – President Picture of Sylavon Towers Resident Council Rosie Love – President, Diane Miller – Treasurer, Dina McGrady – Secretary, Lois Burk – Vice President(not pictured)